Former Lufthansa CEO Wolfgang Mayrhuber has been elected to chair the supervisory board after Tuesday’s annual general meeting, Lufthansa announced. He succeeds the retiring Jürgen Weber.

On Monday morning, Mayrhuber withdrew his candidacy on shareholder criticism, but later in the day again decided to run after Lufthansa announced it would stand by him.

According to several German media outlets, Mayrhuber received 63.22% of the shareholder vote, which paved the way for the former CEO to become chairman. Christine Behle was named his deputy. Lufthansa said around 2,100 shareholders attended the meeting.

Deutsche Lufthansa AG’s supervisory board appointed two new members to the Group’s executive board.

Effective July 1, Bettina Volkens will be the Group’s director of industrial relations-corporate human resources and legal affairs. Volkens currently heads the Group’s HR division.

Harry Hohmeister joins the executive board as chief officer, Group airlines and logistics. Hohmeister has been Swiss International Air Lines CEO since July 2009.

The two new board members succeed Stefan Lauer, who will step down June 30 after serving on the Deutsche Lufthansa AG executive board for 13 years. Both new members will continue in their previous positions in addition to taking on their new responsibilities.