Nigeria and Burkina Faso have become the latest African states to sign the memorandum of implementation (MOI) for the Single African Air Transport Market (SAATM), removing all bilateral restrictions on intra-African flights. African air-transport liberalization is based on the 1999 Yamoussoukro Decision (YD), which was signed by 44 African Union (AU) countries in 1999 and became legally binding in 2002. However, many of the original signatories have since failed to open up their markets. ...

Subscribe to Access this Entire Article

"Two more African countries implement Open Skies" is part of ATW Plus, our online premium membership. Subscribing will provide you access to exclusive news, carefully researched airline financial, fleet and traffic data, plus the option to receive our popular, award-winning print magazine. To learn more, click here. If viewing via ATW Mobile, please login and click "Read web article" to view fully. Questions?

Already registered? here.