The European Union's list of 92 companies now completely barred from operating in European airspace includes 50 carriers based in Democratic Republic of Congo and a combined 33 airlines from Equatorial Guinea, Liberia, Sierra Leone and Swaziland. The European Commission released its list yesterday following the unanimous recommendation of the Aviation Safety Committee last week (ATWOnline, March 16). Several Asian airlines are included, including Ariana Afghan, which may operate only one ...

Subscribe to Access this Entire Article

"Africa bears brunt of European Union blacklist" is part of ATW Plus, our online premium membership. Subscribing will provide you access to exclusive news, carefully researched airline financial, fleet and traffic data, plus the option to receive our popular, award-winning print magazine. To learn more, click here. If viewing via ATW Mobile, please login and click "Read web article" to view fully. Questions?

Already registered? here.