From left: ATW Editorial Director Perry Flint; Virgin America President David Cush; Emirates Airline President Tim Clark; Air Nostrum CEO Carlos Bertomeu; Turkish Airlines President and CEO Temel Kotil; GE Aviation GE90 GM Tony Aiello; Atlas Air Worldwide Holdings President and CEO William Flynn; Alaska Airlines Vice President of Flight Operations Gary Beck; Alaska Airlines Vice President of Information Technology Kris Kutchera and William Freeman, III, ATW Group Publisher. Photo: By Robert Merhaut.

Emirates Airline received the 2011 Airline of the Year Award at the ATW Airline Industry Achievement Awards gala dinner event in Washington, D.C. Tuesday evening.

President Tim Clark accepted the award on behalf of the Dubai-based carrier, saying, "The last few years have been among the most demanding in our industry's history but despite the challenges, we have kept our focus on delivering the very highest standards of product, passenger comfort and operational efficiency. This recognition is testament to our commitment to innovation and service excellence as we continue to grow our global network and offer customers more opportunities to discover the world from Dubai."

Valencia-based Air Nostrum received the Regional Airline of the Year Award, accepted by CEO Carlos Bertomeu. Additional awards were presented to GE Aviation, which received the Aviation Technology Achievement Award for the GE90 engine; Virgin America Airlines, recipient of the Passenger Service Award; Turkish Airlines, winner of the Airline Market Leadership Award; Atlas Air Worldwide Holdings, recipient of the Phoenix Award; and Alaska Airlines, winner of the Airline Technology Achievement Award.

Learn more about all of ATW's Annual Achievement Awards winners.