A new category of Airport of the Year has been added to ATW’s annual Airline Industry Achievement Awards.

ATW editor-in-chief Karen Walker announced the addition this week in Washington DC at the ATW 39th Airline Industry Achievement Awards.

ANA was honored as Airline of the Year for its exceptional financial performance, fiscal management, customer service and technology leadership that set the bar for the entire global airline industry.

Former Lufthansa CEO and Star Alliance founder Jűrgen Weber was presented with the Joseph S. Murphy Lifetime Achievement Award. Other winners included Value Airline of the Year Vueling; Regional Airline of the Year Silver Airways; Airline Technology Leadership winner Lufthansa Group; Airline Market Leadership winner KLM Royal Dutch Airlines; and Aviation Technology winner CTT Systems.

At the 40th Achievement Awards, to be held in Singapore Feb. 10, ATW editors will present these category winners and also an award to the airport that has best demonstrated an excellent relationship with its airline clients, helping them to improve efficiencies and customer satisfaction.

“The airline-airport partnership is very important and in seeking our inaugural Airport of the Year recipient, we will seek input from airlines on metrics that show how that airport has worked with its airline customers to improve the service and operations of both sides,” Walker said.

Nominations for the 40th ATW Airline Industry Achievement Awards can be submitted here or by contacting the editor-in-chief at karen.walker@penton.com.