Russia has banned flights by Ukrainian airlines over its territory.

Ukrainian carriers are forbidden to operate flights to Azerbaijan, Georgia, Armenia and Turkey, Interfax agency reported, quoting Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev.

He also added Russia is considering restrictions on trans-Siberian flights after Aeroflot had to ground its low-cost subsidiary Dobrolet on Monday due to EU sanctions.

On Wednesday, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov denied media reports indicating Russia plans to impose restrictions on flights of foreign commercial aircraft over Siberia. However, on Thursday Medvedev said the measure is still under discussion.

The European Commission does not comment on yet-to-be established measures.

RIA Novosti agency has also quoted Medvedev saying the government is also considering more measures in the aviation industry, but he did not disclose details.