Airline CEOs and industry dignitaries gathered in Washington DC Wednesday to celebrate the winners of the ATW39th Airline Industry Achievement Awards.

At a gala dinner hosted by ATW group publisher Bill Freeman and editor-in-chief  Karen Walker, ANA was honored as Airline of the Year for its exceptional financial performance, fiscal management, customer service and technology leadership that set the bar for the entire global airline industry.

ATW editors look for superb innovation and leadership by executive management; strong financial discipline; a consistent and excellent safety record; proven leadership in community, eco and technology endeavors; and consistent high standards of customer service. When the airline achieves all this in a tough and highly competitive market, as ANA has done, then it surely exhibits the hallmark qualities that set it apart” Walker said.

ANA chairman Yoji Ohashi received the award.

Former Lufthansa CEO and Star Alliance founder Jűrgen Weber was presented with the Joseph S. Murphy Lifetime Achievement Award. Weber was honored for a remarkable career in which he transformed German airline Lufthansa into one of the world’s most successful and highly respected group carriers. He also is a recognized industry gamechanger, creating the world’s first global alliance, the Star Alliance.

Alex Cruz, CEO of Spanish low-cost carrier Vueling, received his airline’s award for Value Airline of the Year. Matt Ray, chairman of Florida-based Silver Airways, received the award for Regional Airline of the Year; Lufthansa EVP Nico Buchholz received the award to Lufthansa Group for Airline Technology Leadership; Martijn van der Zee, SVP e-commerce, KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, received the award for Airline Market Leadership; and CTT Systems president Torbjorn Johansson received his company’s award for Aviation Technology.